2023 Richard Snyder Prize Winner is Teresa Cader

October 9, 2023

2023 Richard Snyder Prize Winner is Teresa Cader

The Ashland Poetry Press is thrilled to announce that Judge Mark Doty has chosen Teresa Cader’s manuscript, At Risk as winner of the 2023 Richard Snyder Memorial Book Prize.

This book will be published and available in 2024.


We received nearly 500 entries this year, and every manuscript was read with care, with excitement, and with genuine gratitude.  This decision was immensely difficult at every stage, and we feel humbled by the work we read this spring and summer.  The state of poetry in America is strong – devastatingly, complexly, and thrillingly.  We’re grateful to inhabit our corner of the community.

To all who submitted:  a huge thank you.  You made our spring and summer extraordinarily difficult in the best possible way.  So many of these manuscripts will soon be devastating books, and we’ll buy them with gratitude.  Keep the faith.

We’d like to recognize our finalist and semi-finalist submissions as well.

2023 Richard Snyder Memorial Book Prize Finalists included (listed alphabetically by author):

Teresa Cader, “At Risk”
Julia Choffel, “Dear Wallace”
Lorraine Doran, “White Flag”
Maia Elsner, “The Quiet Before”
Lance Larsen, “Biting the Piano (and other poems)”
Erika Luckert, “The Forgetting Curve”
Alison Prine, “Loss and its Antonym”
Merry Speece, “Violin”
Brian Trimboli, “The Brothers, Perdendo and Perdendosi”
Beth Williams, “The Source of Dew”

2023 Richard Snyder Memorial Book Prize Semi-Finalists included (listed alphabetically by author):

Mary Ardery, “Vigil”
Giulia Bencivenga, “The Wailing of Some Animal”
Talia Bloch, “How We Keep Each Other Company”
Devon Branca, “A World Would Take Forever to Build”
Jason Bredle, “I Love You but I Don’t Speak Your Language”
Emily Brooks, “Inheritance”
Sarah Carey, “The Grief Committee”
Pat Daneman, “Find Me”
Panika Dillon, “the girl with the angler fish / heart loves no thing / she cannot / absorb.”
Violeta Garcia-Mendoza, “Praise Song for Adverse Noise Conditions”
Peter Grandbois, “Story of a Pilgrim”
Danielle Hanson, “The Clouds Have Arrived in their Armor”
J.D. Isip, “I Wasn’t Finished”
Jen Karetnick, “A Primer for Domestic Outlaws”
Nancy Keating, “Grammars”
Samodh Porawagamage, “All the Salty Sand in Our Mouths”
Rush Rankin, “OK, Words”
Guillermo Rebollo-Gil, “Azucenas”
Stan Sanvel Rubin, “Notations on Bodiless Travel”
Mary Ann Samyn, “Eden in Every Direction”
Tori Sharpe, “Specter”
Martha Silano, “This One We Call Ours”
Julia Thacker, “All the Flowers Are For Me”
Caroline Wellman, “Ghost Apples”
Heather Hallberg Yanda, “What the Stones Borrowed”

Blog Archive
Related Topics
2023 (1)
mark doty (1)
prize winner (1)
richard snyder prize (2)
teresa cader (1)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim