The 2019 Snyder Prize is Open!

January 12, 2019

maggie smith

We are excited to announce that Maggie Smith will be the Ashland Poetry Press's 2019 final judge for the Snyder Prize.

Maggie Smith is the author of three books of poetry: Good Bones (Tupelo Press, 2017); The Well Speaks of Its Own Poison (2015); and Lamp of the Body (Red Hen Press, 2005). Smith is also the author of three prizewinning chapbooks. Her poems are widely published and anthologized, appearing in Best American Poetry, the New York Times, Tin House, The Paris Review, Ploughshares, Virginia Quarterly Review, and elsewhere. In 2016 her poem “Good Bones” went viral internationally and has been translated into nearly a dozen languages. Public Radio International called it “the official poem of 2016.”

The Ashland Poetry Press will publish the winning manuscript and award the author $1,000 in prize money and 50 copies of the published book. Reading fee is $27 for electronic submissions and $25 for hard copy. Please refer to our complete submission guidelines before entering.

Past Snyder winners may be viewed on our catalog. 


Blog Archive
Related Topics
maggie smith (1)
snyder prize (16)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim