2018 Snyder Prize Winner is Barbara Ungar

August 30, 2018

2018 Snyder Prize Winner is Barbara Ungar

Congratulations to Barbara Ungar, winner of the Ashland Poetry Press 2018 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize. Her manuscript Save Our Ship was selected by final judge Mark Jarman. The book will be available in fall 2019.

Barbara Louise Ungar is the author of four full-length poetry collections: Immortal Medusa, winner of the Hilary Tham competition from The Word Works, one of Kirkus Review's Best Independent Poetry Books of 2015 and co-winner of the Adirondack Center for Writing Poetry Award; Charlotte Brontë, You Ruined My Life, also a Hilary Tham winner from The Word Works; Thrift; and The Origin of the Milky Way, winner of the Gival Press Poetry Award, an Independent Publisher's Award, the Adirondack Center for Writing Poetry Award, and an Eric Hoffer Award.  A professor of English at the College of Saint Rose in Albany, NY, she teaches writing and literature.

Finalists included 

  • Rough by Nathalie Anderson
  • American Fraktur by Andrea Carter Brown
  • On the Outskirts of Vertigo by Charlene Fix
  • Name Painted on the Ceiling of the World by Robert Gibbons
  • Dust Runner by Jessica Jewell
  • Heart’s Tango by Francis Klein
  • Dime Saint, Nickel Devil by Ann Lauinger
  • The Museum of Small Bones by Miho Nonaka
  • Old Woman with Berries in Her Lap by Vivian Faith Prescott
  • The World as Smoke and Distance by Nicholas Samaras
  • That’s How It Is by Jared Smith
  • The Long Decoupling by Rebecca Sparks
  • One Chair One, Evening by Marjorie Stelmach
  • When the Peacock Cried Out by Diana Woodcock

Honorable Mention goes to

  • Unarming Truth by James Dietz
  • Wild Severance by V. P. Loggins
  • Ode to the Earth in Translation by George Looney
  • Breaking City Ordinances by Janice Northerns

Thank you to all the poets who submitted their manuscripts for this year's contest. The Ashland Poetry Press is also grateful to our 2018 final judge, Mark Jarman.

Mark Jarman has published numerous collections of poetry, including Bone Fires: New and Selected Poems (Sarabande Books, 2011); Epistles (Sarabande Books, 2007); To the Green Man (Sarabande Books, 2004); Unholy Sonnets (Story Line Press, 2000); Questions for Ecclesiastes (Story Line Press, 1997), which won the 1998 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award; Iris (Story Line Press, 1992); The Black Riviera (Wesleyan University Press, 1990), which won the 1991 Poets’ Prize; Far and Away (Carnegie Mellon University Press, 1985); The Rote Walker (Carnegie Mellon University Press, 1981); and North Sea (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 1978).

The 2019 Snyder Prize contest will open for submissions in January. Watch our website for more details. Last year's winning manuscript, The Idea of the Garden, by Michael Moos (selected by Elizabeth Spires), will be available later this fall. See a full list of past winners at our website’s Snyder Prize catalog.

Blog Archive
Related Topics
contest (3)
snyder prize (16)
winner (4)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim