Michael S. Moos is 2017 Snyder Prize Winner

September 8, 2017

Michael S. Moos is 2017 Snyder Prize Winner

Congratulations to Michael S. Moos, winner of the Ashland Poetry Press 2017 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize. His manuscript The Idea of the Garden was selected by final judge Elizabeth Spires. The book will be available in fall 2018. Moos will also receive a cash prize of $1,000. 

Michael S. Moos is the author of three previous poetry collections: A Long Way to See (MN Book Award nominee), Morning Windows (MN Voices Winner), and Hawk Hover. He is the winner of awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, Minnesota State Arts Board and Loft-McKnight Foundation. Moos has an MFA from Columbia University and was poet-in-residence for the Academy of American Poets, the O’Neill Theater Center/National Theater of the Deaf, as well as several Midwestern arts councils. In the 1970s the National Endowment for the Arts made two documentary films of his work for Poets-in-the-Schools in Kansas and North Dakota.

The Ashland Poetry Press thanks all of our 2017 contestants. We received many excellent manuscripts this year and enjoyed reading them. Finalists for this year are listed below. 

Nathalie Anderson, Rough
Geoffrey Babbitt, Appendices Pulled from a Study on Light
Elizabeth Chapman, A Feeling for Good Water
Arlene Distler, Just This Body
Sarah Fishman, Roman Bird of Avarice
Charlene Fix, On the Outskirts of Vertigo
Peter Grandbois, The Three Legged World
Sarah Gutowski, Fabulous Beast
Danielle Hanson, Haunting the Wrong House
Jessica Jewell, Dust Runner
Francis Klein, Heart's Tango
George Looney, Things Still Worth Trying To Do
James McCorkle, Manifest
Faisal Mohyuddin, The Untarnished Majesty of Our Tomorrows
Lisa Rosenberg, A Different Physics
Jared Smith, Scattered Memories of Those Forgotten
Jen Town, The Light of What Comes After
Carolyn Welch, The Garden of Fragile Beings
Diana Woodcock, The Three Legged World
Heather Hallberg Yanda, Late Summer's Origami

You can see a list of previous winners here, including our 2015 winner Life As It by Daneen Wardrop, recipient of the 2017 Independent Publisher Book Award gold "Ippy" medal for poetry, and our 2014 winner The Genome Rhapsodies by Anna George Meek, a finalist for the Eric Hoffer Book Award.

Watch our website and social media feed for details on our 2018 Snyder Prize competition, or sign up to receive our newsletter here

Blog Archive
Related Topics
contest (3)
michael s. moos (1)
snyder prize (16)
winner (4)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim