2016 Snyder Prize Winner is Pamela Sutton

September 2, 2016

2016 Snyder Prize Winner is Pamela Sutton

Congratulations to Pamela Sutton, winner of the Ashland Poetry Press 2016 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize. Her manuscript Burning My Birth Certificate was selected by final judge Andrew Hudgins. The book will be available in January 2018. Sutton will also receive a cash prize of $1,000. 

Sutton's first book of poetry, Pocket Gospel, was published by Sheep Meadow Press in 2012. Her poetry has appeared in several editions of Scribner's Best American Poetry, including the 25th Anniversary edition, The Best of the Best American Poetry. Sutton’s work has also been published in Glimmer Train, The American Poetry Review, Prairie Schooner, Colorado Review, Threepenny Review, and many other literary magazines. She taught Critical and Creative Writing at the University of Pennsylvania from 1993 through 2008.

Additional Semi-Finalists included: 

Stain by Nathalie Anderson
The Island Comes to You by Charles Atkinson
Once in Every Language by Barbara Carlson
World of Shadows by James Cronlin
The Monastery of Stars by Shaun Griffin
Haunting the Wrong House by Danielle Hanson
Choosing a Stone by Richard Hedderman
Dust Runner by Jessica Jewell
Dais by Francis Klein
The Idea of the Garden by Michael Moos
Abandoned Earth by Linwood Rumney
Flight by Lisa Rosenberg
Sound of a Nighthawk by Jared Smith
Late Summer’s Origami by Heather Hallberg Yanda
These Small Prayers I Have Devised by George Young

Thank you to all the poets who submitted their manuscripts for this year's contest. The Ashland Poetry Press is also grateful to our 2016 final judge, Andrew Hudgins. Hudgins is the author of eight volumes of poetry. His first book, Saints and Strangers (1986), was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize; his third collection, The Never Ending (1991), was a finalist for the National Book Award. Hudgins is also a past recipient of the Haines Prize for poetry from the Fellowship of Southern Writers, The Taft Distinguished Faculty Award, the Ohioana Award for lifetime contributions to poetry in Ohio, two NEA fellowships, and a Guggenheim Fellowship.

The 2017 Snyder Prize contest will open for submissions in January. Watch our website for more details. Last year's winning manuscript, Life As It by Daneen Wardrop (selected by David St. John), will be available in November 2016. See a full list of past winners at our website’s Snyder Prize catalog.

Blog Archive
Related Topics
contest (3)
snyder prize (16)
winner (4)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim