Meet This Year's Snyder Prize Judge

February 24, 2016

Meet This Year's Snyder Prize Judge

The submissions period is now underway for the 2016 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize. The Ashland Poetry Press will publish the winning manuscript and award the author $1,000 in prize money, 50 copies of the published book.

This year's final judge is Andrew Hudgins.

Hudgins is the author of eight volumes of poetry. His first book, Saints and Strangers (1986), was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize; his third collection, The Never Ending (1991), was a finalist for the National Book Award. Hudgins is also a past recipient of the Haines Prize for poetry from the Fellowship of Southern Writers, The Taft Distinguished Faculty Award, the Ohioana Award for lifetime contributions to poetry in Ohio, two NEA fellowships, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. In 2007, he was inducted into the Fellowship of Southern Writers. He currently teaches creative writing at The Ohio State University.

Poems Available on-line by Hudgins:

After the Wilderness 

Air View of an Industrial Scene

Julia Tutwiler State Prison for Women 

Airport Boulevard

Stepping Stone

Day Job and Night Job



Refer to our complete submission guidelines before entering.

Past Snyder winners may be viewed on our catalog. 

(Photo credit: Joanna Eldredge Morrissey).

Keywords: snyder prize
Blog Archive
Related Topics
snyder prize (16)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim