2015 Snyder Prize Winner is Daneen Wardrop

September 11, 2015

2015 Snyder Prize Winner is Daneen Wardrop

The Ashland Poetry Press is pleased to congratulate Daneen Wardrop, winner of the 2015 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize. Wardrop's manuscript, Life As It, was selected by final judge David St. John. The book will be available in fall 2016.

Daneen Wardrop has published two previous books of poetry: Cyclorama (2015), and The Odds of Being (2007). She has received a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry, and the Robert H. Winner Award from the Poetry Society of America. Her poems have appeared in The Kenyon Review, The Southern Review, AGNI, Michigan Quarterly Review, New American Writing, TriQuarterly, and elsewhere. Wardrop has also authored several books of literary criticism, including most recently Emily Dickinson and the Labor of Clothing (2009, University Press of New England).

More than 600 entries were received for this year's contest which were all read by series editor Deborah Fleming. From these manuscripts, semi-finalists were sent on to our final judge. St. John selected the following additional finalists for the contest:

  • Deborah Brown, Not Everything Lost Is Lost
  • Elizabeth Chapman, Food for the Journey
  • Iris Jamahl Dunkle, There's a Ghost in this Machine of Air
  • James McCorkle, The Furies

Thank you to all the poets who submitted their manuscripts for this year's contest. The Ashland Poetry Press is also grateful to our 2015 final judge, David St. John. St. John has had eleven collections of poetry published, including Study for the World's Body (1994), which was nominated for the National Book Award, and more recently The Auroras (2012) and The Window (2014). He also has received many prestigious poetry prizes such as the Rome Fellowship award, the Award in Literature from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, as well as the O.B. Hardison Prize for teaching and poetic achievement from the Folger Shakespeare Library, and the George Drury Smith Lifetime Achievement Award from Beyond Baroque.

The 2016 Snyder Prize contest will open for submissions in January. Watch our website for more details. Last year's winning manuscript, The Genome Rhapsodies by Anna George Meek (selected by Angie Estes), will be available in November 2016.  See a full list of past winners.


Blog Archive
Related Topics
daneen wardrop (3)
poetry contest (1)
snyder prize (16)
winner (4)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim