Anna George Meek Wins Snyder Prize

August 11, 2014

Anna George Meek Wins Snyder Prize

Congratulations to Anna George Meek, winner of the 2014 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize! Meek's manuscript, now titled The Genome Rhapsodies, was selected by final judge Angie Estes. The book will be available in fall 2015.

Anna George Meek has published in Poetry, The Kenyon Review, The Yale Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Massachusetts Review, The Seneca Review, The Missouri Review (where she was awarded the Tom McAfee Discovery Prize), Water~Stone, Crazyhorse, and dozens of other national journals. She is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts grant, two Minnesota State Arts Board Fellowships, and an Academy of American Poetry Prize. She has also been a finalist for the National Poetry Series (three times), the Minnesota Book Award, and the Yale Series of Younger Poets. Her first book, Acts of Contortion, won the Brittingham Prize in Poetry; her chapbook Engraved won the Snowbound Chapbook Competition and was published fall 2013. Meek lives with her husband and daughter where she sings professionally with the VocalEssence Ensemble Singers, and is a professor of English in the Twin Cities.

Deborah Fleming, APP Series Editor, selected the following finalists for the contest:

• Susan Cohen, A Different Wakeful Animal
• Amanda Frost, Polyorama
• Judith Goldhaber, The Coming Earthquake
• Ruby Hoy, Walk on the Water
• Judith Kerman, Aleph, Broken
• Marc Malandra, Where Blue Fish Fly
• Harriet Millan, Her Oceanography
• Michael S. Moos, The Next Life Without Dying
• B. A. Newmark-Klein, In the City of Red Ideas
• Phoebe Reeves, Helen of Bikini
• Sharron Singleton, The Enormity of the Song
• Pamela Sutton, World Without Glass
• Amy Tudor, Studies in Extinction
• Barbara Ungar, Reading Rumi to Dolphins

All manuscripts were screened by Ashland Poetry Press Editor Deborah Fleming. Manuscripts in the final round were read anonymously by Angie Estes.

Next year’s competition will be judged by David St. John. The deadline is April 30, 2015.

« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim