Gabriel Spera Wins Richard Snyder Prize

January 20, 2012

Gabriel Spera Wins Richard Snyder Prize
Congratulations to Gabriel Spera, whose manuscript, The Rigid Body, was chosen by Natasha Trethewey as the winner of the 2011 Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize! Spera’s manuscript was one of nine finalists selected from 408 entries that were screened by APP Editor Deborah Fleming. The Rigid Body will be published in fall 2012.

Gabriel’s first book of poems, The Standing Wave, was published by HarperCollins (New York) in 2003. It was selected for the 2002 National Poetry Series and also received the 2004 Literary Book Award for Poetry from PEN USA-West. Spera’s poems have appeared in journals such as Chicago Review, Crazyhorse, Doubletake, Epoch, Folio, Greensboro Review, Laurel Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, Missouri Review, New England Review, Ontario Review, Poetry, Prairie Schooner, and Southern Review. His work was also featured in The Best American Poetry 2000. He grew up in New Jersey and lives in Los Angeles.

The 2012 Richard Snyder Publication Prize deadline is April 30, 2012. Guidelines for this year’s contest are available on this blog. The 2012 contest will be judged by Elizabeth Spires. This year’s entrants may choose to submit their manuscripts electronically through Submittable.

Side Note: The Ashland Poetry Press website will be undergoing a redesign. In the meantime, those interested in the goings-on of the press should sign up for our electronic newsletter and continue following this blog. Thank you for understanding!

Blog Archive
Related Topics
gabriel spera (4)
richard snyder prize winner (2)
« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up

(^~^){^~^} trim