McGovern Prize

The Robert McGovern Publication Prize

The Robert McGovern Publication Prize is awarded to poets over 40 who have published no more than one book. The prize is established in memory of Robert McGovern, poet, professor, co-founder of the Ashland Poetry Press, and long-time chair of the English Department at Ashland University.

Former McGovern Prize Winners:

  • Laura Van Prooyen, 2014 for Our House Was on Fire
  • Catherine Staples, 2012 for The Rattling Window
  • Robert Grunst, 2011 for Blue Orange
  • Christine Gelineau, 2009 Editor's Choice, for Appetite for the Divine
  • Elizabeth Biller Chapman, 2008 for Light Thickens
  • Michael Miller, 2007 Editor's Choice, for The Joyful Dark
  • Nathalie F. Anderson, 2005 for Crawlers
  • Maria Terrone, 2005 for A Secret Room in Fall
  • A.V. Christie, 2004 for The Housing
  • Jerry Harp, 2004 for Gatherings

Submission Guidelines:

Manuscripts are submitted by nomination only.

The McGovern nominating panel currently consists of the press's editorial board:

  • Marilyn Chin
  • Angie Estes
  • Annie Finch
  • Alice Fulton
  • Eamon Grennan
  • William Heyen
  • Andrew Hudgins
  • Richard Jackson
  • John Kinsella
  • Gerry LaFemina
  • Robert Phillips
  • Ruth L. Schwartz
  • Enid Shomer
  • Marcia Southwick
  • Elizabeth Spires
  • Natasha Trethewey
  • Gregory Wolfe

Vern Rustsala and Philip Levine were former members of our editorial board.


Newsletter Sign Up